5th March 2019
' Nominations open '
26th April 2019
' Nominations close '
24th June 2019
' Shortlist announced '
10th July 2019
' Awards ceremony '


Dr Neil Churchill OBE

Dr Neil Churchill is Director for Experience, Participation and Equalities at NHS England where he champions patient, carer and public perspectives on quality improvement. Before joining NHS England in 2013, he had a 25 year career in the voluntary sector at organisations like Barnardo's, Age Concern, Crisis and Asthma UK. He tweets as @neilgchurchill

Mr Dave Prentis

Dave Prentis has been General Secretary of UNISON, the largest union representing health and care staff in the UK, since January 2001. He is a passionate advocate for public services and public service workers and believes in the dignity of labour and fighting for a decent living wage. He was a visiting fellow of Nuffield College, Oxford and President of Public Services International – the umbrella body for public sector trade unions across the world.  Dave is a member of the Court of the Bank of England and he is a past president of the Trades Union Congress.

Ms Rachel Power

With twenty years’ directorial experience working in palliative care, Rachel looks forward to continuing the Association’s strong history of a willingness to speak up on behalf of patients and service users when necessary.

Dr Helen Stokes-Lampard

Helen Stokes-Lampard is Chair of the Royal College of General Practitioners (RCGP), the UK’s largest Medical Royal College, representing over 52,000 family doctors across the UK.  The Chair shapes policy and leads the strategy of the College, working with politicians, policy makers and the media to ensure that the ‘voice’ of general practice and GPs is understood and represented. 

Dr Ruth May

Ruth May was appointed as Executive Director of Nursing at NHS Improvement in April 2016 following her role as Director of Nursing at Monitor. She is also Deputy Chief Nursing Officer and National Director for Infection Prevention and Control. Ruth has a theatre nursing background and over 30 years’ experience of working in the NHS and is passionate about reducing avoidable pressure ulcers and so she personally champions the national Stop the Pressure programme.

Dr Jeeves Wijesuriya

Jeeves graduated from Barts and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry in 2013 with MBBS and BSc in Medical Education. He is currently an academic GP trainee in east London and is completing a Masters degree in Medical Education.

Ms Janet Davies

Janet Davies is the Chief Executive and General Secretary for the Royal College of Nursing. Prior to this appointment, Janet was one of the Executive Director’s at the Royal College of Nursing (joining in September 2005) and had the strategic lead for nursing and service delivery to its members. Previous to joining the RCN, she had a long career as a Nurse within the NHS.  She was Director of Nursing in West Lancashire and Liverpool and Chief Executive of Mersey Regional Ambulance Service.

Mr Andreas Haimböck-Tichy

In January 2016 Andreas became the Leader of the IBM Healthcare and Life Sciences Unit, bringing 20 years’ experience in the IT Industry to help the Healthcare systems across the UK and Ireland to strive and deliver improved IT services in an ever changing and demanding environment. 

Ms Kate Smith MSc

Kate Smith MSc, is the Director of NHS Strategy & Government Affairs at Teva UK Limited.  Kate has worked in pharmaceutical industry in both branded and specialty medicines, since 1998.  She is passionate about understanding and working with the dynamic environment of the NHS to enable solutions which benefit the patient.  She also has many years insight in delivering projects which improve outcomes for patients. 

Teva is a leading global pharmaceutical company that provides innovative and high quality healthcare solutions to millions of patients every day.

Dr Neil Churchill said:
“We are delighted to have gained the support of leaders representing different and important parts of the community who work in, support and use the NHS. There is a huge appetite in this 70th year of the NHS to thank staff and celebrate the work they do, day in, day out for all of us.”

Dr Ruth May said:
“We have had a really positive response from MPs keen to take this unique opportunity to highlight the many examples of amazing work going on in their areas, and I look forward to working with all of the judges to review the nominations we receive.”

The NHS70 Parliamentary Awards is part of a range of activities being organised by NHS England and NHS Improvement, working with a wide range of partners, to celebrate the achievements of the NHS and those who work for and with it.